A Child’s Recollection of the War

December 8, 2009

I woke up to loud noises and shouting all around me. What was happening? As a six year old child, it seemed like we were always on the run from something. All I knew was the Japanese were bad people and the Americans were here to save us. This morning seemed different. I quickly realized that the loud noises and shouting I heard were joyful and filled with happiness. I overheard the adults talking about how it’s finally over and the Japanese were gone.

All of a sudden the sound of huge trucks filled the streets. Since we were obviously curious to the commotion outside, everyone in my family ran to see American tanks driving down the streets tossing canned goods and chocolate bars towards us. I saw my cousins and other children around me shout “Victory Joe!” which I didn’t understand but decided to do anyway. I saw people around me crying and hugging the American soldiers that came to greet us. Some of them were even flirting with the young Filipina women nearby. At the time I didn’t realize the importance of what was going on around me. I was just happy I got a yummy chocolate bar and my parents were finally smiling which I hadn’t seen them do in a very long time.

(This was a memory my tita had of the end of World War II in the Philippines in 1945)

Leave a Reply

