A never ending dream…

December 8, 2009

A dream is a wish your heart makes
When you’re fast asleep
In dreams you lose your heartaches
Whatever you wish for, you keep
Have faith in your dreams and someday
Your rainbow will come smiling thru
No matter how your heart is grieving
If you keep on believing
the dream that you wish will come true

This was the song from the Disney classic, Cinderella. Every boy, girl, man or woman has a dream. What is a dream? The dictionary defines it to be a wild fancy, a hope or a condition or achievement that is longed for; an aspiration. People dream about many things but one dream that is the most common and longed for is the American dream. It seems that so often the subject of economic standing and wealth, are said synonymously with the phrase “The American Dream”. It seems that it takes money to be happy and economic stature to be accepted; however, in my own opinion many people who fall into this trap out of ignorance will never achieve “The American Dream” they strive towards because it takes more than a country with endless possibilities to live the dream.

The cliché, “In America, you can be whatever you want,” always brings a smirk to my face. I am not a cynical person, but this just isn’t true. Yes America is a very powerful country and it offers people to dream. Unfortunately, no one I know, even me, has ever fulfilled this dream. And I know for a fact that it is not only in this country where one could dream. Does this dream really exist or is it just a mirage waiting to fool anyone and as a result get disappointed. I just do not get how people think it’s only in America that they would fulfill this dream. What is it with America? Why is it that people move here in any way possible, legal or not, and then be contented with a low paying job and live in a one-bedroom apartment with five people in it?

I believe that every immigrant who goes to the United States wants to live the “American dream” whether or not they are aware of it. Every single one of them would like to have a big house, a nice cut lawn, a wonderful husband or wife and loving children. I am an immigrant but the only difference is that I moved to America, but it was not my decision. That is why for me, to live the American dream is to leave the rest of my family, leave the country I was born and raised in, leave my best friends who I have known since my younger years, and leave the dream I once had of being proud of who I was and where I was at, my race, identity, the feeling of content. Now I know I changed. I am a completely different person and maybe because I was never used to living in a dream.

On the other hand, to me the “American Dream” is not just a dollar sign, or desk nametag, but the ability to walk into a room or a home, and know that your presence is welcomed and looked forward to. The dream is realizing that in America, we have the resources to make an honest difference. To dream for the people you left at home and hope that there is a better future for you. To be confident that people will accept you for whom you are and where you came from. It’s not just about getting the job and getting money. It is being accepted as an equal and because I contribute to the growth of this country, I can call myself American.

How come when one says, ‘to live the American dream’ it sounds right but when one says ‘to live the Chinese Dream or the Latino dream or the Filipino dream it doesn’t make sense. Why cant people have dreams that will benefit their own country? Has anyone actually lived the American Dream? Who? How? Maybe he/she can enlighten me with the answers to my questions because just the thought of it fills me up with rage.

 In relation, the recent immigration issues that is currently occurring in the United States has brought up questions and thought about what could the government do to solve the high number of immigrants in the country. I believe that whatever they are coming up with is very insensitive and it is something that wasn’t really given thought of. Immigrants help this country produce money and with more money, this makes this country more powerful so why would they not want more help and people? I do not know. All I know is that whatever America decides on the issue, immigrants and dreamers will continue to come here in any way possible, work and strive hard for the family. That what I believe is the American Dream- a never ending dream to make the future bright and wonderful FOR the family. It is a dream made not for one’s self but for the loved ones.

I am an immigrant. I dream for my family. I live for my family. Wherever I am, I will always have a dream. A dream to have the people I love, living the good life. I will work and strive for the benefit the others. And I dream in America and for as long as I live I will continue dreaming of a never ending dream…

One Response to “A never ending dream…”

  1. pukirahe said

    I love your beautiful article.

Leave a Reply

